Jeff Gordon, Howard Hughes among selections for Motorsports Hall of Fame


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — Four-time NASCAR champion Jeff Gordon and record-setting pilot and eccentric billionaire Howard Hughes are among seven people selected for the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America.

The 2018 class was announced Friday at Daytona International Speedway.

The other inductees are drag racing car builder John Buttera, Indianapolis Motor Speedway founder Carl G. Fisher, motorcycle great Fred Merkel, three-time Indianapolis 500 champion owner U.E. “Pat” Patrick and sports-car legend Bob Tullius.

They will be inducted March 13 in Daytona Beach.

Hall of Fame President Ron Watson calls the joint selection of Hughes and Gordon “probably the best example we’ve ever had to illustrate the breadth of our inductee roll.”

The Hall changed the date of its induction to better coincide with all the motorsports races and activities in Florida in March.

Source link

Articles You May Like

Former Michigan State Spartans player Auston Robertson has bond revoked after arrest
Samson's 92* outguns RCB's batting might
Former Philadelphia Eagles CB Daryl Worley charged with six offenses
New England Patriots’ Rob Gronkowski buys stake in Derby horse Gronk
Alexander Gustafsson signs multi-fight deal with UFC, expects his next fight ‘soon’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *